Tuesday, April 28, 2020

          Due to a willingness to serve the youth of the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference in many aspects by providing both facilities and personnel over the years, the Ohio County Schools have been selected as the 2020 recipient of the Denny Magruder Distinguished Service Award by the OVAC Hall of Fame Committee.

          Ohio County Schools have hosted countless events at Wheeling Island Stadium including the Rudy Mumley OVAC All-Star Football Game, the OVAC Soccer Championships and OVAC Soccer All-Star Match, and the West Virginia “Super Six” State Football Championships.  The facility also served as host of the initial OVAC Showcase of Bands before it moved to Martins Ferry.

          Wheeling Park High School was the site of the OVAC Cheering Championships and the OVAC Junior High Cheering Championships for many years before they moved to WesBanco Arena and the Park track facility hosted the “big school” portion of the OVAC Cal Giffin Track Championships for several years.

          OCS also provides mats and countless workers for the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Championships at WesBanco Arena and many of their coaches and administrators have played key active roles in running championships and other events in the Conference.

          Ohio County Schools will be recognized during the 17th OVAC Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony slated Saturday, Aug. 15 at WesBanco Arena.
          Past recipients of the OVAC’s Distinguished Service Award include Denny Magruder (2010), Bob Robinson (2011), Carpenters Local #3 of Wheeling (2012), Judge Frank Fregiato (2013), WesBanco Arena Maintenance Staff (2014), Ohio University Eastern (2015); Oglebay Park (2016); Mickey Duffy (2017); Ron Miller (2018); and Dave Schafer (2019).

Wrestling Championship
[Log On]
WV Northern Community College