Sunday, August 11, 2019

            The Ohio Valley Athletic Conference will honor its own once again Saturday when the 16th annual OVAC Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony takes place with the induction of the Class of 2019.
WesBanco Arena in downtown Wheeling is once again the site of this year’s event — which is sponsored by the Robinson Auto Group.
            A total of 19 individual associated with the conference will take their place among the elite who have helped make the OVAC — embarking on its 77th year — one of the premier high school athletic leagues in the nation.
            This year’s inductees include:
OVAC ‘Family’ — Dr. Dan Doyle
OVAC ‘Contributor’ — Roy ‘Al’ Glitch
Media — Don Clegg
Coaches — Dave Bruney (Martins Ferry); Jay Circosta (Woodsfield/Monroe Central)
Official — Jim Crosier
1940s Athlete — Chet Daniels (Bellaire)
1950s Athletes — George Deiderich (Toronto); Pete Gongola (Union)
1960s Athletes — Bob DiStefano (Martins Ferry); Leon Jenkins (Weir)
1970s Athletes — Jeff Patterson (Brooke); Ron Sismondo (Mingo)
1980s Athletes —Shelly Carroll (Martins Ferry); Mike Gulan (Steubenville Catholic)
1990s Athletes — Jamie Adams (Linsly); Scott Coyne (Bellaire)
2000s Athlete — Tyler Engle (Fort Frye); Liz Repella (Steubenville)
            Five “Legends of OVAC Member Schools” will also be recognized at the banquet, including Ed Bartrug (Magnolia), Guido DeVecchis (Weir), Stan Goletz (Bridgeport), Charles ‘Hank’ Morus (Frontier) and Steve Swisher (Parkersburg South).
            The “Legends” category recognizes athletes and coaches who competed prior to the inception of the OVAC in 1943 or while their schools were not members of the conference.
            The Dennis Magruder Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Dave Schafer.
            Plaques of the OVAC Hall of Fame inductees are on permanent display in the outer concourse at WesBanco Arena as part of the OVAC Museum.
            The OVAC Hall of Fame selection committee includes Dirk DeCoy, executive director of the OVAC; Tom Rataiczak, treasurer of the OVAC; Jeff Harrison, long-time Ohio Valley sports writer/editor; Doug Huff, retired sports editor of The Intelligencer in Wheeling; Robert “Bubba” Kapral, executive sports editor of The Times Leader/The Intelligencer/Wheeling News-Register; Ron Mauck, long-time OVAC Wrestling Championship director; Kelly Rine, former athletic director at St. Clairsville High School; Tom Tisher, teacher at Magnolia High School; Dick Wolf, East Liverpool City Schools Board of Education member; Don Zinni, former OVAC Football Commissioner; Seth Staskey, sports editor of The Times Leader in Martins Ferry; Bob Koch, director of the OVAC Rudy Mumley All-Star Football Game; and Joe Dunlevy, athletic director at Indian Creek High School.
John Sorrenti, former sports director of WEIR radio, will again serve as master of ceremonies while Dr. Vince Monseau will offer the invocation and benediction.
            Dinner will be served at 5:30 and the induction ceremony starts at 6:30.
Wrestling Championship
[Log On]